Korean Culture:The Three Kingdom Period of Korea (Koguryo , Paekje , and Silla)

History of Korea-476.PNGDo you love watching Korean historical dramas like Moon Lovers Scarlet Heart Ryeo, Hwarang, and Jewel in the Palace? If you do, then you will definitely hear the names of Korea’s three popular kingdoms-Koguryo (Goguryeo), Paekje (Baekje), and Silla (Shilla). Knowing simple facts like these will help make you appreciate Korean historical dramas more. Check this out to know more about these kingdoms.

History of Korea-476.PNG


study.com briefly explained what these three kingdoms are by stating that ” Before Korea broke up into three kingdoms, it was one single state, a mighty kingdom called Gojoseon…..As the Gojoseon kingdom lost power over the next century, it broke apart into several different federations of cities that came together for mutual strength. Three of these federations grew into powerful kingdoms of their own, and thus the Three Kingdoms period was established. For over 700 years, Korea remained divided, until in the 7th century, the kingdom of Silla allied with China to overthrow the others, ending the Three Kingdoms period. ”

7th century Tang dynasty painting of envoys from the Three Kingdoms of Korea: Baekje, Goguryeo, and Silla. (source)


To know more about this topic, please click here.

So... What have you to say?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s